The Lords Resurrection Cathedral, Narva

4.6
#4 of 12 in Historic Sites in Narva
The Lords Resurrection Cathedral is located in Narva. Plan to visit The Lords Resurrection Cathedral and other customer-reviewed, writer-recommended Narva attractions using our Narva trip itinerary planner.
Create an itinerary including The Lords Resurrection Cathedral
map
© OpenMapTiles © OpenStreetMap contributors
The Lords Resurrection Cathedral Reviews
Rate this attraction
TripAdvisor Traveler Rating
TripAdvisor Traveler Rating 4.5
42 reviews
Google
4.8
TripAdvisor
  • The idea is a "Greek cross" and the first sod was broken by the Russian Tsar Alexander in the early 1800 century. At the inauguration, the German Chancellor Bismarck was also invited. In the church there are many pictures of saints on all the church walls. In an EV Helgobbilderna there are more diffballs after a Kalashnikov, which was added after the Russian Revolution. It feels solemn to be inside the church premises!
    View original
  • Amazing place, soaked temple!!! A lot of ancient miraculous icons, the crucifixion of the right, brought from the old temple, which captured Peter 1 from the Catholics, perhaps remember his hands. The cathedral has not been closed. Was laid under Alexander 3 consecrated under Nicholas 2. There is an icon donated by Elizabeth Fedorovoy with Seraphim Sarovsky. There is an icon of the Virgin, donated by Patriarch Cyril. Ancient icon of Nicholas the wonderworker of 1300 year. The iconostasis and the Panikadilo are still original. Wonderful services, especially when the Lord Lazarus, Radiant, from him comes such a light, such grace, just do not convey words. Be sure to book a tour, because the temple belongs to the museum, and the church only rents, so each icon is unique. Dress warmer in the upper temple has always been very cold. Do not forget to visit the lower temple.
    View original
Google
  • The festive ceremony of the cornerstone of the Church of the Ascension of Christ was held on August 5, 1890, and the cornerstone was consecrated by the bishop Arseni (Brjantsev) of Riga and Miitavi in ​​the presence of Emperor Alexander III and Emperor Maria Fjodorovna. Alexander III placed the cornerstone personally. The design of the Byzantine church that reminded the Greco-Greek was the architect of the plan, architect Pavel Ališ, who worked in the Kreenholm Manufaktur from 1888-1907. The main building material is the red and yellow bricks made at the Kulga factory belonging to the Kreenholm manufactory. The foundation, stairs and decorations were made of Finnish granite. Afanasyev was the author of three-threaded carved carved and overstocked iconostasis, but the icons were written at the Dikarijov Workshop at Moscow Icon Museum. In 1912, the paintings of the dwarf drum, the croutons and the main daisies were completed. The painting "The Lord of the World" is best preserved in these paintings, the rest is still worse, but the painting of the eastern daisies has been destroyed altogether. The lobes are the traditional images of the apostles and evangelists Matteus, Markus, Luke and John. On November 17, 1896, the main head of the Ascension of Christ was celebrated in the presence of Arseni, Archbishop of Riga and Militaire, in the presence of the Governor of Estonia, J. Skalon. The north altar of all the saints was consecrated on June 1, 1897. In the middle of the mid-20th century, this altar was consecrated after the repair of the holy Emperor Nikolaos. Among the icons of the sanctuary, the iconic icon of the holy Nicolaos and the "Devil's Name" icon of the Godhead could be highlighted. Attention is also drawn to the large, late-Gothic cruciform form, made by the late 17th-century master Elert Thiele, for the Church of St George in Jerusalem, located on the left. The form of the cross was in the Chronicle of the Transfiguration of the Lord and lived happily over the 1944 bombing attack. After the Second World War, the Resurrection Church was blown away in Narva, the only healed sanctuary, and on January 20, 1958, it was renamed the main hero. On the 100th anniversary, the church was thoroughly renovated. The lower church, which was consecrated to Serafim, was also remodeled to Saarov's wagon, which had the first post-war Laid Service in 1945. On November 16, 1996, the Lower Church was ordained by the Bishop according to the order of Tallinn and the whole Estonian Archbishop of Kornelius.
  • A must-see place in Narva.
Places to stay near The Lords Resurrection Cathedral

Plan your trip to Narva

  • Get a personalized plan

    A complete day-by-day itinerary
    based on your preferences
  • Customize it

    Refine your plan. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Book it

    Choose from the best hotels
    and activities. Up to 50% off
  • Manage it

    Everything in one place.
    Everyone on the same page.

Popular things to do in Narva

View all >
4.6
Duration: 1​h
4.1
Duration: 3​h
4.1
Duration: 1​h 30​min
4.2
Duration: 1​h

Side trips from Narva

4.9
Duration: 2​h
4.5
Duration: 1​h 30​min
3.4
Duration: 2​h 30​min

Historic Sites in Narva

4.2
Duration: 1​h
3.6
Duration: 1​h
2.5
Duration: 1​h

Hidden gems in Narva

4.8
Duration: 2​h 30​min
4.9
Duration: 1​h 30​min
4.5
Duration: 1​h
3.3
Duration: 2​h

Nearby attractions in Narva

4.2
Duration: 2​h
4.8
Duration: 30​min
4.2
Duration: 1​h
2.5
Duration: 1​h

Casinos in Narva

1.9
Duration: 2​h 30​min